Pieter Bruegel I – To announce the own intentions in advance by petrus.agricola

A Flickr Favorite
Owner_ petrus.agricola

Pieter Bruegel I - To announce the own intentions in advance

Pieter Bruegel the elder – Twelve proverbs [1558] –
Antwerp, Museum Mayer van der Berg –
Source: VisitFlanders

The Dutch inscription reads as follows:
T’ Harnasch maeckt my een stouten haen,
ick hanghe de kat de belle aen.

The free English translation:
The armour gives me courage (makes me a proud cock),
I hang a bell around the cat’s neck

Meaning:
When one plans something which everyone finds out about, one’s undertaking will turn out badly.

via Flickr http://flic.kr/p/KjFmce

Leave a Reply

