Pieter Bruegel I – The more I try to hide the better known I become by petrus.agricola

A Flickr Favorite
Owner_ petrus.agricola

Pieter Bruegel I - The more I try to hide the better known I become

Pieter Bruegel the elder – Twelve proverbs [1558] –
Antwerp, Museum Mayer van der Berg –
Source: VisitFlanders

The Dutch inscription readfs as follows:
Ick stoppe my onder een blau huycke,
meer worde ick bekent hoe ick meer duycke.

The free English translation:
I hide under a blue mantle,
the more I hide the better known I become (as cuckold).

via Flickr http://flic.kr/p/Jvc8E1

Leave a Reply

